z above h 1

Are Candy Canes GF?

by Liz
(Calgary, Alberta, Canada)

With Christmas coming, many people hand out candy canes at stores, parties, and school. My daughter and I have Celiac disease and my daughter really wants one.

I feel bad saying no, but I'm not sure, especially if they don't have ingredients with them. Do some candy canes contain gluten, or most/all?

Is there one particular brand that's GF? I looked at Allan's Candy Canes the other day and it wasn't clear. I don't want to buy them then find out we can't eat them.

Comments for
Are Candy Canes GF?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GF Candy Canes
by: Anonymous

I have found some candy canes that are GF, and some that definitely contain gluten.
In Candada, the Allan Candy Canes are GF. There are some store brand canes that contain trace of wheat and other allergens. I think it's the Great Value ones, not sure about the others.
Thanks for all the thoughts & ideas. So, glucose syrup derived from wheat is GF? I've been avoiding that. How can it be GF if it's made from wheat?

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re: Gluten Free Candy Canes
by: Anonymous

Hi there all,

The Horners Confectionery Candy Canes are Gluten Free. (can be found in countdown, Pak n Save, New World).

You can also buy the Planet Candy Canes from the Warehouse as they are made by the same people in NZ.

They are also Nut free and vegetarian.

Horners Confectionery products are all made in NZ.

Please have a look at their Facebook page: Horners Confectionery Ltd.

Thank you,

All the best :)

Raj

Dec 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
glucose syrup
by: steve

ive been wondering the same thing, with candy canes being handed out everywhere. it would not matter if the glucose syrup was from wheat or corn, as the wheat derived glucose syrup is gluten free. but ive been trying to find out if there are other glutenous ingredients in them "generally speaking" wheat starch etc is common in confectionary.
cheers
Steve

Dec 16, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Are Candy Canes Gluten Free.
by: Lucy The Gluten Free Kiwi

Hey There,

This is an excellent question - the think that would make candy canes have gluten in them would be glucose - it all depends if this is derived from wheat or corn (it has been my experience that a lot of NZ candy is made with corn, while Australian candy is made from wheat) this is not a rule.

My advice - Always read the labels - or email the company - or ring their customer service line to find out.

I am really glad you brought this up - as its something I may have overlooked.

Thanks Heaps for your Contribution to the website :)

Lucy Ross








213360.jpgOmega 3 Fish Oil

  • Support the skin, hair and nails.
  • May assist in inflammation and joints
  • High quality fish oil
  • Supports a heart health
  • Gluten Free
Learn more about omega 3 supplements







2352710.jpg

Peroid Pain?


79651.jpg

Lacteeze Lactose Intolerance

Gluten Free Dairy Free Cookbook

Gluten Free Cookbooks

 The Gluten-free Kitchen
The Gluten-free Kitchen
 125 Best Gluten-free Bread Machine Recipes
125 Best Gluten-free Bread Machine Recipes
  Gluten-Free Baking Classics for the Bread Machine Gluten-Free Baking Classics for the Bread Machine  Gluten-free Italian
Gluten-free Italian
The Gluten-Free Asian Kitchen: Recipes for Noodles, Dumplings, Sauces, and More
The Gluten-Free Asian Kitchen: Recipes for Noodles, Dumplings, Sauces, and More
  The Best Gluten-Free, Wheat-Free & Dairy-Free Recipes: More Than 100 Mouth-watering Recipes for All the Family
The Best Gluten-Free, Wheat-Free & Dairy-Free Recipes: More Than 100 Mouth-watering Recipes for All the Family
  Living Gluten-Free For Dummies: AND Gluten-Free Cooking For Dummies
Living Gluten-Free For Dummies: AND Gluten-Free Cooking For Dummies