Comments for Is Tip Top Hokey Pokey Ice Cream Gluten Free

ice cream

Nov 04, 2010, Glucose issue
by: Anonymous

Ice cream is not necessarily gluten free. Glucose is often derived from wheat, so unless the label specifically says “glucose (from maize)”, you can’t be sure.
Aug 12, 2010, Ingredients
by: Anonymous

I found this on the Tip Top website. It looks GF to me, but I can’t be 100% sure. You could always email Tip Top and ask them

“ICE CREAM [SKIM MILK, CREAM, SUGAR, GLUCOSE, EGG, EMULSIFIERS (477, 471), STABILISERS (412, 410, 407a, 407, 401), FLAVOUR], HOKEY POKEY (6%) [SUGAR, GLUCOSE, BUTTER, ACIDITY REGULATOR (SODIUM BICARBONATE), GELATINE, SALT, FLAVOUR] ICE CREAM CONTAINS 10% MILKFAT.”

“MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF NUTS”

What’s really yummy is getting vanilla ice cream, crunchy peanut butter (most is gluten free, I use Kraft) and Cadbury drinking chocolate. Mix it all together =]
Aug 02, 2010, Yup, it should be
by: Theresa

As far as I know most ice cream is gluten free. Good on you for being careful about what you eat though, it’s really hard to get used to it at first but soon you’ll be a pro label reader!
On the label, if it doesn’t mention wheat, barley, malt etc, you should be fine 🙂 Most of the time, labels have bold writing for common “allergens” so they are easy to spot.

BTW: if you’re craving cookies and cream ice cream you can buy plain vanilla ice cream, fold in some whipped cream and crunched up GFree bickies to make your own, better than shop bought, GFree cookies and cream! It’s amazingly yummy!

🙂

Comments

comments